Linen Closet Revamped

Hello everyone!  Today, I wanted to show you how simple and classy organizing a linen closet could be!

I rent at the moment and the biggest struggle I have is trying to add color to my home without painting and organizing without the ability to put in a new system.  Here is one way I accomplished my goal of a colorful area while being able to utilize the space efficiently.

Below is a photo of my linen closet before I did anything to it.  As you can see, it is small with wire shelving and just a mess!

Linen Before

Before I started organizing anything I sat down with two bags.  One bag was designated for trash, the other was considered my donate bag.  I took out each item from the closet and asked myself a few questions:

1. How often is it used?
2. Will I need this in the near future?
3. Do I have a sentimental attachment to the item?
(I know it sounds silly for a linen closet, but some beach towels are from vacations that I would like to keep as a reminder)

Once I was finished I threw out the trash bag right away and placed my donate bag by the front door.  Products like hotel shampoos, soaps, and lotions can be donated to a women’s shelter, while older towels and sheets that are stretched out can be given to your local animal shelter.  If the the item is too far gone to reuse or donate in any way, take it to your local textile recycling center.

After that whole process was completed, I grouped similar things together.  The frequency of use was also evaluated.  For example, the extra set of sheets I use for the guest bed were put on the top shelf along with a few towels that are used for outdoor projects.

When everything was sorted to my satisfaction, I took inventory as to what products I can reuse or what I need to buy.

A trip to The Dollar Store and Target were a must!

As you can see in the picture below, I took a piece of foam board and wrapped it in colorful contact paper! It protects the board from any potential spills while solving that color struggle!

Linen Close Up

A Lazy Susan collected all the products I use on a regular basis while the blue bin holds the hair products I do not use as often.

In order to keep my wash cloths in order, I found the perfect size bin to hold them!  By doing this, everything appears to be uniform and neat.  I refolded the towels to have a smooth edge on the outside.

My extra sheet set that I use to rotate with the sheets on my bed were placed in a bin that I already had.  I am not the best at folding sheets (who is?) so containing them in the bin was a must! Now when I go to switch out the sheets all the matching pillow cases are together.

On the bottom shelf I put additional first aid products that will not fit in the medicine cabinet inside a photo storage box. The other box holds all my travel size products.  I love these because it is easy to contain those small and awkward shaped items, yet still have them completely accessible when I need something!

In order to keep towels to be washed neat and utilize all the closet space, I put back the “laundry basket” on the floor.

Linen Closet

Here is the final product!  The door now stays open because I like to look at it!  As you can see, I used matching colors as well as contrasting colored bins to give the closet a pop of color!

Linen Full Lenght

Stay tuned to see what I have in store next!

Leave a comment