Disaster to Delight: A few ways to transform your foyer closet

Good morning everyone!

This week I wanted to show you guys how I transformed my disastrous foyer closet into an organized, colorful closet.  As I mentioned in my last post, I rent so I have to find ways to improvise with my organization systems.

This is the closet before I did anything to it.

Foyer Before

It is a complete mess in my opinion.  There are a few bigger objects that are not in the right place at all.  The large box at the bottom holds hand-me-down China, there is a carpet cleaning machine, and a random basket that does not belong.

The China was relocated to the upstairs in a storage closet so there was less of a chance of everything getting broken.  After some rearranging, the carpet machine and plastic drawer tower were put in the utility closet (there will be another post about that closet soon)!

In my master closet, there were two sets of shelves that were not suiting my needs so I put them in here!  I turned them to lay horizontally, so it can hold the boots that I wear most often (I have a basket by the door with my flats and sneakers) and my winter hats, gloves, and scarves. You can also find crates from your craft store to create this look too! It is a great way to personalize and add color to your closet by staining for painting the crates.

Foyer Shoes

I used the same color bins in this closet as I did in the linen closet.  When I eventually move, I’m sure my closets and needs will change so I kept the bins consistent so I do not have to buy new ones!

In order to keep the games in order, I found the clear stack-able bins that hold 12″ x 12″ scrapbook paper at the craft store. I was able to fit two games in each box in some cases.  This eliminates the worn out cardboard boxes are that unevenly sized.

It is easier to see in the photo below that each box is labeled appropriately!  Wire shelving and I do not get along well, so I did what I have done in almost all of my other closets, wrap a foam board from The Dollar Store with Contact paper.  One day I will be able to have solid laminate shelving, but in the meantime this works well!

Foyer

I decided to add some color and put coral pink colored hangers in here!  I love the way the coral and light blue look together!

Again, I used the same color bin that I have in the past.  It holds the smaller items like playing cards and small boxed games.  These are the kinds of games that look messy and fall off the shelf in the process of getting another box down when they do not have a proper home.

Foyer Close Up

Here is the final product!  I really love it!  Now, I am able to make use of all the space in this closet.

Foyer Full Length

Leave a comment and tell me what you use to store board games!

Leave a comment